Astro-Notes on January 2, 2016 – Third Quarter Moon

Daily aspects:
– Third Quarter Moon at 11:14 Libra/Capricorn at 00:30 am EST
– Sun in Capricorn semi-sextile Saturn in Sag
– Pallas in Capricorn square Eris in Aries and semi-square Neptune in Pisces

The square between Pallas in Capricorn and Eris in Aries together with the semi-square between the former and Neptune in Pisces describe the ‘crisis in consciousness’ that accompanies this particular Last Quarter Moon rather perfectly. As we transitioned from the old year into the new, I was struggling with New Year’s Day traditions from days past. I had worked all day Thursday, returning home late from my shift when it was already dark and getting colder. Tired and exhausted, I was not in the mood anymore to take the old trash out. I just wanted to sit down with a big cup of coffee that would warm me from the inside and wake me up at the same time so that I would stay awake until midnight to ring in the New Year. However, reading through the posts I get in my mailbox through my subscriptions, I was alerted by the ‘warnings’ of lore and customs, especially since I needed to do my laundry yesterday morning, which is an absolute NO. Going back and forth over my options I decided that my own schedule or rhythm is better suited to my plans and I discarded all those ‘words of inherited wisdom’. To be honest, I don’t think or feel that this is going to bring me bad luck (although I could really do without), on the contrary, I felt more in sync with my environment or the larger cycles/the universe by following my instincts. Not to mention, the first day of the New Year was a 1 day for me personally (Eris- and autonomy-related) on which I drew the “Queen of Swords” (objective, logical, uses reason and intellect etc.) as card for the day. Thus, it didn’t feel wrong. Instead, when I took the trash out it seemed rather to me that I was ready to throw out the old and that this was my personal day to renew myself and get ready for the New Year and all the exciting changes it will bring.
The Sabian Symbol for the Sagittarius New Moon that started this cycle stated: “In an old-fashioned northern village men cut the ice of a frozen pond for use during the summer. Keynote: The foresighted use of natural resources to supply future human needs – ASSURING SUPPLY.” The emphasis here is on “old-fashioned” and also on “foresightedness”. At this stage in the cycle it is our approach or strategies/politics, which are being tested in this regard and whether they or the traditions we’re holding on to are feasible or realistic or even useful for us to “assure our future needs are getting met”. So, perhaps, with the Sun in Capricorn involved in a semi-sextile aspect to Saturn in Sagittarius, it would be wiser to follow our own authority instead of letting our lives being ruled by fear, superstition or limiting beliefs that prevent us from living more authentically.

Tarot card of the day is the Ace of Wands”, suggesting an upsurge of ideas and imagination and the drive and energy necessary to undertake such projects. There is the promise of motion, direction and positive energy and thus, we could be feeling quite energetic and enthusiastic as well as optimistic and hopeful for the future. Today we’re driven by a strong, creative force, proceed with courage and confidence and expand our potential.

Leave a Reply

